What is the state minimum wage? 

  • $13 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees 
  • $12 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees

What do I need to know about state withholding tax?

  • Income earned within California is subject to withholding tax for part-year residents, residents and non-residents
  • Income earned by California residents outside of California is subject to CA withholding.
  • New employers are required to register for a withholding account.  Click here to register online. (Instructions on how to register/enroll can be found here).

What forms do employees need to set up state withholding?

  • DE 4 – Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate
  • Information for Spouse of Military Personnel can be found here 

What do I need to know about unemployment tax?

  • 2020 Taxable Wage Base – $7,000
  • 2020 New Employer UI Rate – 3.4%
  • 2020 California Employer’s Guide
  • With few exceptions, new employers are required to register for an unemployment tax account.  Click here to register.

How do I report new hires to the state?

OR Mail/Fax Form DE 34 to:

  • Employment Development Department
    P.O. Box 997016, MIC 96
    Sacramento, CA 95799-7016
  • Fax: 916-319-4400
  • Phone: 916-657-0529

How do I submit Child Support payments?

Additional Resources:

California Tax Commission Tax Forms & Publications
California Department of Labor California State Laws

Get A Quote For California Payroll Services

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.