What is the state minimum wage?

  • The state minimum wage is $5.15 per hour, so the $7.25 federal minimum wage applies

What do I need to know about state withholding tax?

  • Income earned within Georgia is subject to withholding tax for both residents and non-residents of Georgia.
  • Georgia residents are taxed on all income regardless of the source. 
  • New employers are required to register for a withholding account.  Click here to register.

What forms do employees need to set up state withholding?

  • Form G-4 – Employee’s withholding allowance certificate

What do I need to know about unemployment tax?

  • 2020 Taxable Wage Base – $9,500
  • 2020 New Employer UI Rate – 2.7%
  • With few exceptions, new employers are required to register for an unemployment tax account. Click here to register.

How do I report new hires to the state?

  • Report new hires online
  • Georgia New Hire Reporting Center
    P.O. Box 3068
    Trenton, NJ 08619
  • Fax (888) 541-0521
  • Phone (888) 541-0469

How do I submit Child Support payments?

  • Division of Child Support Services
    1327 3rd Ave.
    Columbus, GA 31902
    Phone: (844) 694-2347

Additional Resources:

Tax Forms & Publications Georgia State Laws
Georgia Department of Labor Employer’s Tax Guide
Learn About Unemployment Taxes and Benefits

Get A Quote For Georgia Payroll Services

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.