What is the state minimum wage? 

  • $7.25/hour – Texas adopts the federal minimum wage rate.

What do I need to know about state withholding tax?

  • N/A – no state income tax

What forms do employees need to set up state withholding?

  • N/A – no state income tax

What do I need to know about unemployment tax?

  • 2020 Taxable Wage Base – 9,000
  • 2020 New Employer UI Rate – Texas law sets an employer’s tax rate at their NAICS industry average or 2.7 percent, whichever is higher.
  • With few exceptions, new employers are required to register for an unemployment tax account. Click here to register.

How do I report new hires to the state?

  • Report new hires online
  • ENHR Operations Center
    P.O. Box 149224
    Austin, Texas 78714-9224
  • Fax: (800) 732-5015
  • Phone: (800) 850-6442

How do I submit Child Support payments?

  • Remit payments online
  • Texas State Disbursement Unit
    PO Box 659791
    San Antonio, TX
    78265-9791
  • Phone: (855) 853-8286
  • Email: txecsupport@smimail.net

Additional Resources:

Texas Employer’s Tax Forms & Instructions Texas Workforce Commission
Texas Labor Standards Texas Department of Insurance – Workers Compensation, Employer’s Resources

Get A Quote For Texas Payroll Services

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.